The Beginning Of A New Year

Honestly, I don’t even want to think about last year. Not only did my sister and her son die of cancer, but I lost two of my favorite people in the world to COVID – a father and son. After them, I lost my last living aunt on my Mom’s side. Plus, there is a current tragedy in the works I cannot talk about yet.

Still, this is the beginning of 2022 and I am somewhat leery of it, so to speak. So many things are in mid-air like little boxes. It feels like it is just before gravity grabs hold and bring the little ‘life boxes’ down to the ground.

Since moving back to the hills, I have been unsettled, unhappy, and sick with so much physical pain; 2021 felt like I was bouncing around on bubbling, boiling water because. There wasn’t anything I felt like I had control over. I still don’t, actually. Feel like I have control. Feel like I can pull myself out of the water. BUT I have decided to be proactive for 2022.

My goals aren’t worth relating – except I am going to return to blogging regularly – so I don’t consider them New Year’s Resolutions. They are my goals, though. This year I am choosing to begin it with open eyes, squared shoulders, and an active brain. The active body will happen, too, but it will take me a while to get me moving anywhere close to painlessly. (I know – it won’t be painless, I’m just realistically looking for moving with less pain.) I have set goals.

I hope 2022 doesn’t suck great big hairy monkey balls.

About Henrietta Handy

I have returned home to the mountains. No more am I "a mountain-girl far from home." Diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at 2 1/2, I understand pain, fatigue, laughter, joy, and love all while on crutches and in wheelchairs. This blog is just about me, mostly the writing side, but there are forays into so many different topics. I am married to a wonderful husband who puts up with my writing, knitting, yarn, with the love of a saint. We have fur babies, and one cat who rules us all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments & replies