Hello Again

It has been a long time hasn’t it, Dear Readers. In the interim, has your life changed as drastically as mine has? There have been so many changes for me I am completely at a loss for what should be the first event because there were a lot of ‘firsts’ altogether.

One of the biggest changes is the fact The Husband and I are no longer living together but, we are still together. We just can’t currently cohabitate. It was not his decision.

Willie Fu, my service dog, my best friend, died.

I lost a sister and a nephew – mother, and son.

I am living with my niece, the daughter of the sister I lost.

Why has The News opened back up?

Because I am 6? years old and starting all over again in a way. Maybe someone can benefit from some of the experiences I’ve had and a few I am going through. It is scary and feels impossible, and other people in my age group have told me they were in the same boat. Of course, no one wants to open up about it because of all the talk and speculation that can swirl around about a situation no one else can really understand: Having to be away from your spouse even though they are very loved. One person is going through this because her husband has developed some strange, rare dementia and he must live in a nursing home close to her house, but she says often, “It may as well as be five hundred miles away because some days he isn’t there at all except in body. I feel like a married divorced woman because our lives are so separate now.”

Even though The Husband and I speak every day and Message each other throughout the day, it is strange to make any plans or arrangements without him. He is feeling the same. Neither of us is giving up on our relationship or each other. There just has to be some space between us physically. We will be back together eventually.

I never expected to be on this particular journey. My friend didn’t expect her current life path either. So, both of us are going to talk about these changes and how they are affecting us now – if she will stop being afraid of sharing her thoughts online, that is.

There isn’t going to be a set schedule for anything other than posting as often as happens.

About Henrietta Handy

I have returned home to the mountains. No more am I "a mountain-girl far from home." Diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis at 2 1/2, I understand pain, fatigue, laughter, joy, and love all while on crutches and in wheelchairs. This blog is just about me, mostly the writing side, but there are forays into so many different topics. I am married to a wonderful husband who puts up with my writing, knitting, yarn, with the love of a saint. We have fur babies, and one cat who rules us all.
This entry was posted in 2023, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello Again

  1. waxixe6397 says:

    This is a very honest and heartfelt post. It takes a lot of courage to share such personal experiences online. I’m sorry for your losses and the changes you’ve had to endure. I’m curious to know, how has your relationship with your niece changed since you moved in together?

    Mr. W

    https://primarytinting.net

    Like

Comments & replies